Review: The Bride by Wendy Clarke

Publish Date: May 20, 2020
Publisher: Bookouture
Genre: Mystery, Thillers
#digitalarc

⭐️

The moment Joanna told me she was engaged, I had this awful feeling that something was wrong.

We used to speak on the phone every day. Growing up I spent more time at her house than I did at my own. I’d always imagined what it would be like to see her get married, and now I didn’t even know her fiancé’s name.

She asked me to come and meet Mark and I intended to tell her to slow down. You can’t know someone for a month and be sure that you want to spend the rest of your lives together.

When I got to Joanna’s front door, only Mark was there. He was charming and gorgeous and nothing but nice to me, and I started to understand.

And then he told me that Joanna was missing.

My Review:

Okay. (deep breath).
This book was incredibly bizarre. And let me just preface this by stating: I DESPISE stupid characters. The main character was so unlikeable, I wanted to smack some sense into her 95% of the time.
One sentence in that synopsis completely baffles me. “When I got to Joanna’s front door, only Mark was there. He was charming and gorgeous and nothing but nice to me, and I started to understand.” What on God’s green Earth did you start to understand?! Ted Bundy was nice and charming to everyone too but he also had a penchant for serial killing!! Add that to the fact that she hadn’t even seen her so called “best friend” in TEN YEARS!
I wasn’t really surprised with the twist at the end and it could have been executed much better. The characters were very shallow and one-dimensional.
Lastly, there’s that ending. I hated it. I hate how it ended and what happened with the characters. I went through this awful and painful journey to only get no satisfaction in the end. It’s like mediocre sex without the climax.

I thank NetGalley and Bookouture for this digital arc.

Leave a comment